cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any Problems Shipping to India?

Sorry if this one's already been answered.  I tried to use the search function, but it seems to operate differently than before.

I'm trying to mostly ship to countries where I can insure, but have an item with potential bidders in India inquiring (and they are not on Shipsurance's list). I assume that if I send it registered, it could still go missing, and I would be out of luck? 

Has anyone had experience shipping there?  I know some of the experts here prefer not to ship outside U.S., but so far I have had nothing go missing, even including Colombia and Republic of Georgia. 

Thanks.    

Message 1 of 35
latest reply
34 REPLIES 34

I ship international, but won't ship there... I suspect Shipsurance has a good reason for not having India on their list.  But I have no firsthand experience.  I know Davey ships there (or did). 

The Floggings Will Continue Until Morale Improves.
Message 2 of 35
latest reply

I've never shipped there but it is not a country usually warned about on the boards. I have shipped several times to brazil which is one of the countries warned about with no problems. I've shipped mainly videogames and I fold up a home made box that is sturdy but unprofessional looking. It looks like how poor people mail garbage.

For coins I would use one of my ghetto mailers marked numismatic supplies and a low value. If people assume it's a DVD no one will steal open or pay it much mind, but the description is still truthful.

Registered mail only tracks to the airport, it might continue to track in western europe but probably not india and it screams steal me. I'd ship boring first class. If you feel insurance is neccessary find a third party company that provides it.

Message 3 of 35
latest reply

The only Asian country that I'd even consider shipping to is Japan.

For all the others I don't trust their Postal System.