eBay
  • Daily Deals
  • Sell
  • Customer Support
  • Shop now
Community Member

What's My Watch Worth?

I have a Hamilton Masterpiece 14 K gold Thin-o-matic with clender, serial no. 979676.  It was presented to a bank teller in 1977 upon his retirement and has ingraving on the back to that affect.  It is in very good to excellent condition and works perfectly.  What's it worth?

Thanks

Please use plain text.
afantiques
Community Member

Re: What's My Watch Worth?

in reply to mntmotorrider

Whatever you can get for it. Maybe a bit more than the gold scrap value of the case. The engraving will kill it for many buyers.

=============================================================
af," a reduntant, uneducated, diatribe spouting fool."
Please use plain text.
Community Member

Really?  I see one listed here exactly like it for $599.  Who's kidding who?

Please use plain text.
afantiques
Community Member

Only 'sold' counts.

Anyone can ask anything for something.

Is the one you saw engraved?

=============================================================
af," a reduntant, uneducated, diatribe spouting fool."
Please use plain text.
Community Member

Really?  I see one listed here exactly like it for $599.  Who's kidding who?

If you're referring to listing 200636469027, that one has been on the market since July 31.

I do find one recorded sale of a Thin-o-Matic recently, which went at auction for $338.17 in listing 160663954541. That one was engraved. Three others also sold in the latter half of October for less than $100 each.

I would list it with an opening price of the minimum that you would genuinely accept for a sale, in case you only get one bid, and see how it goes. I would not use a Reserve; that tends to be a bid killer, and you'll be having to respond to endless emails asking what the Reserve price is (which you can reveal if you like). Good luck.

Please use plain text.
ben_hutcherson
Community Member