cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Final Value Fees are too high!!

eddieg11
Pathfinder
I think 10% is too high for eBay to charge for a final fee for items purchased. The bigger the item the lower percentage the fee should be. Giving up 10% for an item that you sell for $500 should not cost you $50 to process. Especially sinc most things are sold under cost on eBay. Thoughts?
Message 1 of 110
latest reply
109 REPLIES 109

Re: Final Value Fees are too high!!

I don't have a probl;em with e bay's FVF.  Try selling on consignment through a Brick and mortor store and see how much they charge you.  Try going through an auction house and see how much they charge you in TOTAL commissions.

In my previous life I was a District Manager for large retail companies.  You would be surprised how much it takes to run a business.  10% is good for fees considering you are reaching millions of people daily.

Think about it........

This quest stands on the edge of a blade...stray but a little and you shall fail to the ruin of us all.
"The Lady Galadriel"
Message 2 of 110
latest reply

Why would anybody sell on eBay under cost?
If you check out other options, eBay is a deal. I know, blast away.
Fees are part of a business plan. if no can do, don't do
Message 3 of 110
latest reply

Pay the $15/month for the store subscription. The fees go down, and on a $500 item, the amount saved might be more than enough to pay for the $15.

Message 4 of 110
latest reply

Try selling on the River. They take 15% + an additional flat fee ($1.35 for books).

I sell women's clothing and pay 9% FVF. It's a deal compared to my next best option for selling.

Message 5 of 110
latest reply